Seaside #1

After watching the past few days of summer slowly tick away before school comes back around, I decided that a spontaneous trip was necessary. A four hour trek from my hometown of Seattle, Washington, led to a beautiful, albeit small, town by the name of Seaside, Oregon. Over the four hours, the trip was highlighted by the Astoria-Megler Bridge, a four-mile-long mammoth of a bridge with gorgeous views of the Columbia River. The trestles of the bridge were especially unique due to the steep and consistent incline of the end of the bridge, making for an experience unlike one I’d had before. A short twenty minutes later, I’d arrived in Seaside, my destination for the weekend.

In Seaside, I enjoyed the mile-long beach while the tide was out, soaking my feet in the crystal-like, almost unreal water of the Pacific Ocean. After walking along the beach, I made my way into the downtown of Seaside, which consisted of numerous unique and memorable small shops. One particular store that will remain in my memory was the Portland Fudge shop, as I purchased a bit of the chocolate peanut butter fudge and my tastebuds were instantly touched by God’s own personal hands. As I traversed through the remainder of the town while indulging in the delectable fudge I’d just picked up, I couldn’t help but smile at the small-town vibe of the town. Through each shop, I found myself surrounded by friendly shopkeepers who encouraged my touristy activities, which included trying on wacky hats in the hat shop in the mirror and laughing hysterically at the results.

FullSizeRender

After a short time in the town, I made way back to a local burger joint by the name of the U Pub, where I took a burger and fries to go for a night at the beach. Despite the slight walk down to the water, the burgers held strong and were a delicious treat to accompany the wonderful sunset that followed. Though the clouds covered a bit of the sunset, the atmosphere and miles of beach made for a wonderful sunset regardless.

IMG_0337

To top things off, I stayed in the Sandy Cove Inn, a unique place with one-of-a-kind rooms for each guest. I was treated to the Vintage Games Room, one of the most interesting in the entire Inn, which included bocce balls, numerous checkerboards, and figures plastered among the walls that unfortunately were more creepy than they were interesting. Besides that, the room was great and topped what was a fantastic day in a gorgeous small seaside town!

IMG_0352

Leave a Reply

